Lilies on Mars – Dot to Dot

Lilies on Mars Dot to Dot

For fans of: Cayucas, Mogwai, & Ringo Deathstar

Get your shoegaze-lo-fi-synth-pop fix this Tuesday with the new Lilies on Mars album, “Dot to Dot” via Saint Marie Records! The UK duo consisting of Lisa Masia and Marina Cristofalo, channel their inner space-cadets with 13 tracks that will have you floating. Masia’s high-pitched, Grimes-esque voice blends seamlessly with Cristofalo’s dark vocal undertones that provide the perfect pairing to the out there, floating instrumentals. The first stand-out track is the opening “See The Sun,” a slightly eerie tune that mixes the reverb of Cayucas and the dreamy tone of Mogwai. Setting the tone for the entire album, “See The Sun” is perfect for a rainy day reading binge in your favorite cushy chair. “Side Abcd” will whisk you away to a whimsical land of sunshine before surprising you with heavy, tone-changing guitar chords. While I could easily compare the change to a bucket of icewater being thrown on a sunbather, the diversion from the album’s first couple of songs is a brilliant ear-opener. Finally, be sure to check out “Sugar Is Gone,” a track that combines chillwave and EDM to make a trippy tune that is as deep as it is addictive. Overall, “Dot to Dot” is an experimental trip to the stars that will have you begging for more.

Track Listing:

  1. See You Sun
  2. Dream of Bees
  3. Side Abcd
  4. No Way
  5. Entre-Temps
  6. Oceanic Landscape – featuring Franco Battiato
  7. Interval 1
  8. Impossible Child
  9. So Far Dear America
  10. Interval 2
  11. Sugar Is Gone
  12. For the First 3 Years
  13. Martians

Add Comment