Karen Hudson – Sonic Bloom

Karen Hudson Sonic Bloom

Singer/songwriter Karen Hudson has released her third album, “Sonic Bloom.” An album funded entirely off grants and financing through a fiscal sponsorship from the New York Foundation for the Arts, Hudson explained that recording helped her “think about how my work affects people and continues a legacy—whether by being an activist in song, or interpreting old folk songs, or, like me, being just another struggling artist who sings about her dead alcoholic dad.”

“Sonic Bloom” is much more than just songs about her “dead alcoholic dad,” showcasing Hudson’s supreme understanding of all things roots, americana, blues, country, and rock. Karen calls out to the men in her life in songs like, “Dead Letter File,” a deceptively chipper track where she steaks her claim as a grown woman. Another noteworthy track is the twangy “The Beauty of the Now,” which was written by guitarist Steve Antonakos. Backed with a catchy 12-string guitar hook, Karen croons, “You don’t have to work so hard, open up let down your guard . . . all you gotta do is be.”

A good message to go with a great sound. Rock on, Karen!

Track Listing:

  1. Late Bloomer
  2. Call Me
  3. Better Half Of Me
  4. St. John’s Isle
  5. Mama Was A Train Wreck
  6. Better Days
  7. A Woman Knows These Things
  8. Daydream
  9. Dead Letter File
  10. Baby’s Tune
  11. The Beauty Of The Now

Add Comment