V V Brown – Samson & Delilah

VV Brown Samson & Delilah

Songstress V V Brown is back and better than ever with her second studio album, “Samson & Delilah,” out on YOY Records October 8th. Brown, who sold over 1 million copies of her single, “Shark In The Water” from her critically-acclaimed debut album, “Traveling Like The Light,” returns to the music world after a couple of years out of the spotlight working and modeling for Marks & Spencer. The UK singer brings her A-Game once again with “Samson & Delilah,” surprising her pop competitors with a new darker sound mixed with elements from EDM, soul, R&B, and classical music.

The album opens with “Substitute For Love,” a electro-infused ballad with VV’s shockingly operatic vocals floating over the haunting chords. Brown gets a chance to show off her powerhouse voice throughout the entire album, but tracks “Samson,” “Looking For Love,” and “Knife” take her voice to an entirely other level, sounding more like a trained mid-range belter than the pop star she was known as in the past.

“Samson & Delilah” takes a clubby turn on tracks like “I Can Give You Love,” with a steady electro beat blending seemlessly with Brown’s psychedelic vocals.  “I Can Give You More” in particular is simply begging for a club remix, but can just as easily stand on its own in the competitive dance music scene.  “Igneous” is a personal favorite of mine, riddled with heavy dub elements and empowering lyrics, with Brown chanting in a hypnotic monotone, “We are incredible / Like wolves in the wilderness / We are unstoppable / Like tribes in the jungle.”

Whether tracks are fit for a club or a concert hall, VV Brown displays her range as an artist beautifully throughout “Samson & Delilah,” and certainly prove that she is no longer the bubbly, fresh-faced “Shark In The Water” singer we once knew. Brown has finally found her niche, managing to take the listener through a personal journey with her mixture of love, loss, heartbreak, and redemption that will certainly resonate with crowds young and old.  “Samson & Delilah” out worldwide October 8th!

Track Listing:

  1. Substitute For Love
  2. Nothing Really Matters
  3. Samson
  4. I Can Give You More
  5. Igneous
  6. Looking For Love
  7. The Apple
  8. Faith
  9. Ghosts
  10. Knife
  11. Beginning

Add Comment