Forests – No Fun

Forests No Fun

They say never to judge a book (or in this case, album,) buy it’s cover…but Forests may be one of the few exceptions to the rule. The beautiful chaos displayed on the Taiwan-based trio’s new album, “No Fun,” describes the band’s sound to a tee. Kicking off with “Death Mask,” Forests counts down to a blend of low-fi and surf rock, growling out, “into the shrine, you think that it’s all yours, you swine…losing your time for nothing but the chore…” The track is followed by “Pleasure Science,” a track describing someone who is constantly scattered trying to find who they really are. “He’s a vicar,” they moan, “a manic wisher, fever tracking his finds…”

The surprisingly steady, slightly du-wop inspired “Dog Gone Flies” and the wacky, retro “Woo Woo Woo,” come next, before diving headfirst into the slightly-bluesy “They’re Calling You.” “They’re Calling You” has a more serious, nearly spoken-word vocal style that blends into scattered harmonies with the band’s other members, and is also heard on the next track, “Ego Bender.” Next up is “Lovey,” a 50’s-sounding track that will have you feeling nostalgic for days to come, before blasting into “Beard War,” which embraces a more noise-rock sound. “Trippin’ Oaks” is one of Forests’ more melodic tunes, pairing steady guitar riffs soaked in a solid dose of fuzz. “Ju Want It” and “What’d You Say” keep with the heavy reverb feel, before wrapping up with “I Don’t Mind,” a simplistic, perfect closer to a turbulent 12 tracks. Well done, Forests…for once, we’re glad we judged something on appearances!

You can download “No Fun” for FREE on BandCamp here.

Track Listing:

  1. Death Mask
  2. Pleasure Science
  3. Dog Gone Flies
  4. Woo Woo Woo
  5. They’re Calling You
  6. Ego Bender
  7. Lovey
  8. Beard War
  9. Trippin’ Oaks
  10. Ju Want It
  11. What’d You Say
  12. I Don’t Mind

Add Comment